BFI London Film Festival Awards Guests Announced | The Fan Carpet Ltd • The Fan Carpet: The RED Carpet for FANS • The Fan Carpet: Fansites Network • The Fan Carpet: Slate • The Fan Carpet: Theatre Spotlight • The Fan Carpet: Arena • The Fan Carpet: International

BFI London Film Festival Awards Guests Announced

27 October 2010

On Wednesday 27 October, the BFI London Film Festival will hold its second annual Awards ceremony, following the success of last year’s inaugural event. Winners will be announced at the high profile ceremony to be held in the prestigious surroundings of LSO St Luke’s, the home of the London Symphony Orchestra.  Hosted by journalist and broadcaster, Sue Perkins, the five awards will be presented by some of the most respected figures in the film world.

Celebrating the most original, intelligent and distinctive filmmaking in the Festival, the Best Film award, presented in partnership with American Express, has been judged by an international jury chaired by actress Patricia Clarkson who will be present at the ceremony alongside fellow jurors including Gabriel Byrne.


Presented in partnership with Swarovski and honouring new and emerging British film talent, and recognising the achievements of a new writer, producer, director, actor or actress, this award will be presented by actor Andy Serkis.

The longstanding Sutherland Award is presented to the director of the most original and imaginative feature début in the Festival. Jurors Michael Winterbottom and Olivia Williams will present the award.

This award is co-presented with the Grierson Trust, in commemoration of John Grierson, the grandfather of British documentary. Recognising outstanding feature-length documentaries of integrity, originality, technical excellence or cultural significance, the jury was chaired by Kevin McDonald and the award will be presented by journalist and broadcaster Jon Snow.

Awarded to an individual whose body of work has made an outstanding contribution to film culture, the Fellowship is the highest accolade that the British Film Institute bestows and will be awarded to director Danny Boyle. Boyle, whose film 127 HOURS will close the Festival the following evening, will be presented with the award by Stephen Daldry.

Legendary film director Martin Scorsese will also be present at the ceremony to deliver a special tribute to the work of the BFI National Archive, which celebrates its 75th anniversary this year.

Jurors who will be present at Wednesday evening’s festivities will include: Best Film jurors Patricia Clarkson, Gabriel Byrne, Sandy Powell, Shekhar Kapur and John Hillcoat; Sutherland Trophy jurors Stephen Poliakoff, Rebecca O’Brien and Esther Freud; Best British Newcomer judges Andrea Calderwood, Antonia Bird, Tony Grisoni; and Grierson Award jurors Mandy Chang and Christo Hird of the Grierson Trust, Charlotte Moore, Head of Documentary Commissioning at the BBC and Dick Fontaine of the NFTS.

Other guests will include: Danny Boyle, Greg Dyke, John Hurt, Joanne Froggatt, Richard Ayoade, Craig Roberts, Joanna Hogg, Sue Perkins, Michelle Eastwood, Brian Welsh, Clio Barnard, Kim Longinotto, Janus Metz, Eduardo de la Serna, JB Ghuman Jr.

Industry guests will include: Tessa Ross, Sue Bruce Smith, Peter Buckingham, Tim Cagney, Lizzie Francke, Duncan Kenworthy, Claire Binns, Steve Jenkins, Mia Bays, Eddie Berg, Sandra Hebron, Amanda Nevill, Stuart Boreman, Will Gompertz, Edward Fletcher.

A special hour-long programme, with exclusive coverage of the ceremony, will be broadcast on 7 November, 9pm on Sky Arts 2 HD – including all the nominees and winners, an insight into the juries’ decisions, and a 75th anniversary tribute to the unique work of the BFI National Archive.