Big wins for The King's Speech and The Social Network at the Richard Attenborough Film Awards | The Fan Carpet Ltd • The Fan Carpet: The RED Carpet for FANS • The Fan Carpet: Fansites Network • The Fan Carpet: Slate • The Fan Carpet: Theatre Spotlight • The Fan Carpet: Arena • The Fan Carpet: International

Big wins for The King’s Speech and The Social Network at the Richard Attenborough Film Awards

13 December 2010

UK regional critics today announce their Film of the year, as a highlight of the fifth annual Richard Attenborough Film Awards (RAFAs). The prestigious accolade goes to The Social Network,which also wins Screenwriter of the year for Aaron Sorkin.

The RAFAs – the UK’s regional film awards – comprise fourteen categories. Seven are exclusively for UK regional film critics, while a further seven are decided by public votes. In recognition of their achievement, each winner will each receive a RAFA award, remodelled for 2010 and engraved with Lord Attenborough’s signature.

Voting in the seven categories for regional critics took place online between 15 November and 6 December 2010. The voting constituency was staff and freelance arts and entertainment writers, critics and editors in all branches of UK regional media. Results as follows:

UK regional critics’ vote RAFA winner


Film of the year

The Social Network


Filmmaker of the year

Christopher Nolan – director, Inception


Screenwriter of the year

Aaron Sorkin – The Social Network


Actor of the year

Colin Firth – The King’s Speech


Actress of the year

Noomi Rapace–The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (and the Millennium trilogy)


Rising Star of the year

Chloe Moretz – Kick-Ass, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Let Me In


All Time Legend

Sir Michael Caine CBE

The seven people’s choice categories (below) were each decided by an online public vote. Toy Story 3wins three RAFAs, more than any other title, while Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1was voted for on ITV1’s The Alan Titchmarsh Show.

Results as follows:

UK public vote RAFA winner

British Film of the year (in association with ITV's The Alan Titchmarsh Show)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1


Film Star of 2010 (in association with Newsquest Group)

Angelina Jolie – Salt (and with The Tourist just released)


Animated Film of the year (in association with HMV)

Toy Story 3


Breakthrough Star of the year (in association with Cineworld Cinemas)

Chloe Moretz – Kick Ass


3D Film of the year (in association with Cineworld Cinemas)

Toy Story 3


Top Film Character of the year (in association with

Edward Cullen - The Twilight Saga: Eclipse


Family Film of the year (in association with The Birmingham Mail)

Toy Story 3

Colin Firth, Actor of the year for The King’s Speech, said “I am delighted to receive the Richard Attenborough Film Award for Best Actor and to be recognised by the regional media in the UK.”

Colin Firth has already won Best Actor for his performance in The King’s Speech at this year’s British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs). The film – now gathering huge BAFTA and Oscar potential – won five BIFAs in total on 5 December.

Chloe Moretz, winner of the newcomer awards in both the regional critics’ and public vote categories, said “I am so thrilled and humbled to have been thought of, much less win such an award when I am still very young. Thank you to all who voted and I hope that in the years to come I am able to portray characters that will continue to entertain audiences.”

Atlanta-born Moretz, 13, has appeared in more than a dozen films since her screen debut in 2004. She has been in the UK recently shooting Hugo Cabret for Martin Scorsese.

Veteran film star Sir Michael Caine CBEwas conferred All Time Legend, voted for by the regional journalists. In the last year alone, he has appeared in both Inception and Harry Brown, and has published a volume of autobiography, The Elephant to Hollywood. The special achievement award was inaugurated in 2009 when it was won by none other than Lord (Richard) Attenborough himself.

Lord Attenborough CBE said “The last year has shown the cinema to be both resilient and innovative, with large audiences eager to enjoy the unique theatrical experience. It has also brought a superb crop of terrific films with compelling performances from both experienced and fresh talents. I offer my warmest congratulations to this admirable set of winners.”