Johanna von Fischer and Tessa Collinson, the long standing Directors of the British Independent Film Awards will step down at the end of the year | The Fan Carpet Ltd • The Fan Carpet: The RED Carpet for FANS • The Fan Carpet: Fansites Network • The Fan Carpet: Slate • The Fan Carpet: Theatre Spotlight • The Fan Carpet: Arena • The Fan Carpet: International

Johanna von Fischer and Tessa Collinson, the long standing Directors of the British Independent Film Awards will step down at the end of the year

23 September 2014


Johanna von Fischer and Tessa Collinson, the long standing Directors of the British Independent Film Awards will be jointly stepping down at the end of the year following the 17th Annual Awards Ceremony to be held on 7th December 2014.

The Awards were founded by Raindance in 1998 and run under the Raindance umbrella until 2006 when Tessa and Johanna became joint Directors of the Awards. Between them they have produced the Awards since 2001.   The Awards will now return to Raindance and the new structure is to be announced later in the year.

Von Fischer and Collinson commented: “It has been a tough decision to move on from BIFA but we are ready to take on new challenges and excited about embarking on a fresh chapter in our careers.  We are extremely proud of how BIFA has developed over the years and have been fortunate to have the incredible support of the film industry, our Advisory Committee, our partners and a loyal team who have helped to raise the profile of BIFA and without whom we could never have pulled off so many fantastic Awards Ceremonies.  For now we are currently focused on the selection process and it certainly looks as if 2014 will be a year to remember.”

Raindance and BIFA founder Elliot Grove commented: “Tessa and Johanna have become synonymous with BIFA. Through their great work the Awards have risen to new heights. We look forward to working with the industry and stakeholders to develop the next era for the British Independent Film Awards.”

This year’s nominations will take place on 3rd November and the Awards ceremony will take place on 7th December.

Now in its 17th year, the Awards were created by Raindance in 1998 and set out to celebrate merit and achievement in independently funded British filmmaking, to honour new talent, and to promote British films and filmmaking to a wider public.


Proud supporters and patrons of The Moët British Independent Film Awards include Mike Figgis, Tom Hollander, Adrian Lester, Ken Loach, Ewan McGregor, Helen Mirren, Samantha Morton, James Nesbitt, Michael Sheen, Trudie Styler, Tilda Swinton, Meera Syal, David Thewlis, Ray Winstone and Michael Winterbottom.

The Moët British Independent Film Awards would like to thank all its supporters, especially: Moët & Chandon, 3 Mills Studios, BBC Films, Company3, M.A.C, Movado, Raindance, St Martins Lane, Soho House, Swarovski, Variety, AllCity, Intermission.

Created by Raindance

About The Moët British Independent Film Awards
In recognition of Moët & Chandon’s generous contribution as headline sponsor, the 2014 event is referred to as The MOËT British Independent Film Awards.

Recognised for its quality and prestige, Moët & Chandon is the champagne of choice for celebration at international film festivals. The venerable house has captured the attention of Hollywood’s brightest stars since the birth of the film industry. Generations of legendary actors, actresses, producers and directors have celebrated their achievements with Moët & Chandon at the most significant and exclusive cinema events, including the Oscars® & Golden Globes® celebrations. 

Visit the following for further information on MBIFAMoët & ChandonRaindance

Current Rules & Eligibility:
All films must be submitted for consideration by September 19th 2014. 

A feature film will be eligible for an Award if:

It is intended for theatrical release, AND has had a public screening to a paying audience either on general release in the UK OR has screened at a British-based film festival between 1st December 2013 and 30th November 2014.

Where there is any major studio substantially funding a film, the total budget must not exceed $20M. Films are not defined as “independent” strictly on the terms of financing.

It has been produced or majority co-produced by a British company OR is in receipt of at least 51% of its budget from a British source or sources OR it qualifies as a British Film under the DCMS guidelines AND includes sufficient creative elements from the UK.

A feature film must be no less than 70 minutes in length.

Films that have been entered previously are not eligible. Re-issues of previously released films are not eligible.

Best British Feature Documentary. In 2003 the British Independent Film Awards introduced this new award. Eligible films must be non-fiction. They should be photographed in actual occurrence, or employ partial re-enactment, stock footage, stills, animation, stop-motion or other techniques, as long as the emphasis is on fact and not on fiction. (Further eligibility criteria as with other feature films above).

Best International Independent Film. BIFA also consider foreign independent films. Foreign films must have a British theatrical release during the eligibility period stated above

The Douglas Hickox Award is to be given a British director for their debut feature film. The estate of Douglas Hickox shall present a cheque for £500 to the winner. 

British Short Film Award submissions: Any British short film that has been accepted as part of the Official Selection at one of BIFAs recognised film festivals [See] OR has won an award during the eligibility period. Any variations are at the sole discretion of BIFA. A short film must be no longer than 40 minutes (including credits).

All eligible films submitted for consideration will be viewed by the BIFA Pre-Selection Committee.  Members vote by secret ballot firstly to draw up a long list then again to determine the nominations. All nominated films are then viewed by an independent Jury appointed each year. The winners are announced during the evening of the Awards Ceremony. 

The Special Jury Prize will be decided entirely at the Jury's discretion.

Variety Award recognises an actor, director, writer or producer who has helped to focus the international spotlight on the UK.

The Richard Harris Award for Outstanding Contribution to British Film by an Actor (male/female) to be decided by the Advisory Committee with the input of the Harris family.

Under exceptional circumstances, inclusion and consideration of films which do not strictly comply with the above criteria will be subject to the discretion of the British Independent Film Awards Advisory Committee.

All decisions made by BIFA and its members are final and no correspondence will be entered into as to why particular entries were or were not nominated.

See more here and for further information on MBIFA go here.